Sep. 20, 2022

HARRISBURG – Rep. Abby Major (R-Armstrong/Indiana/Butler) and Rep. Matt Dowling (R-Fayette/Somerset) today announced Major has been chosen to chair the House Second Amendment Caucus for the remainder of the 2021-22 Legislative Session.

“It is an honor to be picked by the current chairman, Rep. Dowling, for this important role,” Major said. “My predecessor, Rep. Jeff Pyle, headed the caucus before Dowling, and it makes this appointment all the more special. I will work hard to stand up against those who are trying to take away our constitutional rights.”

“I’m confident Abby will do a fantastic job leading the caucus,” Dowling said. “During my tenure, I took a proactive approach to ensure our rights are not only protected but strengthened. While I only have a couple of months remaining in the Legislature, I look forward to working with Abby to stop the constant attacks by those opposed to lawful gun ownership.”

The Second Amendment Caucus fights back against legislative proposals that aim to weaken Pennsylvanians’ constitutional rights, as well as being proactive in advancing legislation to support and enhance those rights.

Meetings have taken place with representatives of Firearms Owners Against Crime, Gun Owners of America and the National Rifle Association, and caucus members continue to work on pro-Second Amendment legislation.

Until Nov. 30, the 60th Legislative District includes Bethel, Boggs, Burrell, Cadogan, East Franklin, Gilpin, Kiskiminetas, Kittanning, Manor, North Buffalo, Rayburn, South Bend, South Buffalo, Valley and West Franklin townships and the boroughs of Applewold, Ford City, Ford Cliff, Freeport, Kittanning, Manorville, North Apollo, West Kittanning and Worthington in Armstrong County; Buffalo and Winfield townships in Butler County and Blacklick, Conemaugh and Young townships in Indiana County.

Until Nov. 30, the 51st Legislative District includes the city of Uniontown, Georges, German, Henry Clay, Nicholson, South Union, Springfield, Springhill, Stewart and Wharton townships and Fairchance, Markleysburg, Ohiopyle, Point Marion and Smithfield boroughs in Somerset County; and Addison, Elk Lick, Lower Turkeyfoot, Summit and Upper Turkeyfoot townships and Addison, Confluence, Garrett, Meyersdale, Salisbury and Ursina boroughs in Somerset County.

Representative Abby Major
60th District
Representative Matthew Dowling
51st Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Tracy Polovick
717.260.6358 / /