Fire Companies, Government Entities Awarded Grants
HARRISBURG – Rep. Abby Major (R-Armstrong/Westmoreland) and Sen. Joe Pittman (R-Armstrong/Indiana/Jefferson/Westmoreland) today announced that more than $1.7 million in grants were approved by the Commonwealth Financing Authority for projects within the 60th Legislative District.

Local Share Account grants support economic development, job training, community improvement and public interest projects through gaming funds under Act 71 of 2004.

“These projects will make a difference in our communities,” Major said. “Each addresses a critical need in order to protect citizens or provide important services. Thank you to former Rep. Jason Silvis for advocating for some of these projects. Due to delays by the Commonwealth Financing Authority, the money is just being released now.” 

“At a time when many families and communities are feeling a strain from inflation, state investments play an even greater role in helping to strengthen our local region,” said Pittman. “I’m glad to have worked with my fellow elected officials to help secure this funding, which will ensure the advancement of numerous projects for the benefit of area residents.”

Those receiving grants are:

Apollo Borough – $139,005 to purchase a dump truck and police vehicle.
George G. McMurtry Fire Department 1 – $10,000 for 25 pagers so 911 can alert members of emergencies to reduce response times.
Leechburg Borough – $136,800 to rehabilitate the Campbell Avenue Park and Playground.
Markle Volunteer Fire Department – $15,214 to purchase replacement portable radios.
Vandergrift Borough – $15,000 to purchase a replacement truck with snowplow package.
Vandergrift Borough – $419,593 for building renovations at the Casino Theater and Library Building.
Vandergrift Borough Police Department – $2,850 to purchase a license plate reader to assist with crime solving and locating missing persons.
Westmoreland County Municipal Authority – $1 million for a lead water service line replacement project in Vandergrift, East Vandergrift, North Vandergrift, West Leechburg and Leechburg.

The 60th House District covers Bethel, Burrell, Cadogan, East Franklin, Gilpin, Kiskiminetas, Manor, North Buffalo, Parks, South Bend and South Buffalo townships and Apollo, Applewold, Ford City, Ford Cliff, Freeport, Leechburg, Manorville, North Apollo and West Kittanning boroughs in Armstrong County and Allegheny Township, East Vandergrift, Hyde Park, Vandergrift and West Leechburg boroughs, and part of the city of Lower Burrell in Westmoreland County.

The 41st Senate District includes all of Armstrong and Indiana counties; Bell, Gaskin, Henderson, McCalmont, Oliver, Perry, Porter, Ringgold and Young townships, and Big Run, Punxsutawney, Timblin and Worthville boroughs in Jefferson County; and the cities of Arnold, Lower Burrell and Kensington, the townships of Allegheny, Bell, Derry, Fairfield, Ligonier, Loyalhanna, St. Clair, Upper Burrell and Washington, and the boroughs of Avonmore, Bolivar, Derry, East Vandergrift, Hyde Park, Laurel Mountain, Ligonier, New Alexandria, New Florence, Oklahoma, Seward, Vandergrift and West Leechburg in Westmoreland County.

Representative Abby Major
60th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Tracy Polovick